2010

 

"EXPLORING SYNERGIES BETWEEN BIOTERRORISM PREPAREDNESS AND GENERAL PUBLIC HEALTH MEASURES"

An international scientific meeting “Exploring Synergies Between Bioterrorism Preparedness and General Public Health Measures” was held at the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts, November 15-17”.

The Conference was attended by 35 experts from 22 countries from Europe, USA, Middle East and World Health Organization. Dr. Goran Belojević, professor at the Faculty of Medicine of the Belgrade University, emphasized that this was the first meeting of its kind in Serbia, where many aspects of biterrorism were discussed. It was an exceptional occasion for the exchange of experience of experts from the countries that were struck by bioterrorist attacks and those countries that are preparing to respond to such attacks. It is important that the Serbian public health system is prepared, and that additional efforts are made in regard to bioterrorism prevention, continual education of medical professionals and reasonable investments in equipment that are necessary for responding to a bioterrorist attack. The scientists from Serbia, with the help of experts from Germany, have developed an original model for increasing the efficiency of the existing public-health system infrastructure in defense against bioterrorism, Dr. Vladan Radosavljević, professor at the Military Academy, remarked.

The Vice President of SASA, academician Ljubiša Rakić emphasized that the most significant result of the scientific conference is the newly-established network of institutions and conference participants who will monitor the operation of joint projects, implementation of project results and improvement of the model of defense against bioterrorism. It will serve as a basis for initiation of international projects that will be financed by the European Community, both within the FP7 Program and/or Committee on Science and Technology (COST).

The Conference was also evaluated with highest grades by Dr. Iris Hunger from the University of Hamburg – Research Group for Biological Weapons and Arms Control and Dr. Lisa Rotz, representative of the Center for Infection Control and Prevention, Department of Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response.

 

  • The commencement of negotiations for joining CERN
    Monday, December 27, 2010
  • THE RECEPTION FOR STUDENTS, THE WINNERS OF MEDALS AND INTERNATIONAL COMPETITIONS
    Friday, December 24, 2010
  • Digital Treasury of the Chilandar!
    Thursday, December 16, 2010
  • "EXPLORING SYNERGIES BETWEEN BIOTERRORISM PREPAREDNESS AND GENERAL PUBLIC HEALTH MEASURES"
    Tuesday, November 23, 2010
  • The interview of the president of SASA to the Tanjug newspaper agency
    Tuesday, November 23, 2010
  • ON THE OCCASION OF THE “SIGILLO D'ORO” PRIZE AWARDED TO ACADEMICIAN VOJISLAV STANOVČIĆ
    Tuesday, November 23, 2010
  • The talk with Sir Arnold Wolfendale
    Tuesday, November 9, 2010
  • On the Birth Centenary of Pavle Savić
    Tuesday, November 9, 2010
  • THE SERBIAN ENCYCLOPEDIA
    Monday, October 25, 2010
  • The Visit of Archbishop of Venice and Cardinal Angelo Scola to SASA
    Monday, October 18, 2010
  • Placing a wreath on the tomb of the academician Skender Kulenovic
    Wednesday, October 6, 2010
  • Second International Conference on Geometry, Dynamics and Integrable Systems - GDIS 2010
    Tuesday, September 14, 2010
  • ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SERBIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES AND ART REGARDING THE ADVISORY OPINION OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE IN HAGUE
    Monday, July 26, 2010
  • Journal Južnoslovenski filolog (South-Slavic Philologist)
    Monday, June 7, 2010
  • Enacted Law on Serbian Academy of Sciences and Art
    Monday, June 7, 2010
  • Overview of cooperation among academies of arts and sciences in South East Europe, by Ljubisa Rakic, Vice-president of SASA
    Friday, June 4, 2010
  • THE ANNUAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SERBIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES AND ARTS
    Thursday, June 3, 2010
  • Meeting with Israeli Ministry of Science and Technology, Prof. Dr. Daniel Hershkowitz
    Tuesday, June 1, 2010
  • The Visit of Prof. Jaromir PASTOREK President of the Slovak Academy of Sciences
    Thursday, May 20, 2010
  • The visit of Prof. Dr. Jože Trontelj, President of the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts
    Wednesday, May 12, 2010
  • Branko Ćopić Fund Prize
    Tuesday, May 4, 2010
  • Promotion of SASA's work in the supplement to the weekly VREME “The Home of Serbian Science”
    Tuesday, May 4, 2010
  • SASA and Telenor cooperation
    Tuesday, May 4, 2010
  • Visit by the delegation of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences
    Thursday, April 29, 2010
  • Talks betweeen the SASA President Nikola Hajdin and His Holiness the Patriarch Irinej of Serbia
    Tuesday, March 30, 2010
  • Talks with the Ambassador of Ukraine in Serbia
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010
  • Announcement on the talks with Rajko Kuzmanović, President of the Academy of Sciences and Arts of the Republic of Srpska
    Friday, March 12, 2010
  • Huge Acclaim of the Serbian Science and Civil Engineering
    Thursday, March 11, 2010
  • In honor of Belic
    Monday, March 8, 2010
  • Signing of the agreement with the European Investment Bank for a loan intended for science and development of technology
    Thursday, March 4, 2010
  • New revolutionary method of early cancer diagnostics
    Friday, February 19, 2010
  • The Gallery of SASA introduces new accessibility standards
    Tuesday, February 16, 2010
  • His Holiness, Patriarch Irinej of Serbia
    Monday, January 25, 2010
  • Aacademician Aleksandar Fira published in 2009
    Thursday, January 14, 2010
  • General Assembly of the Inter-Academy Panel
    Monday, January 11, 2010