Jürgen Habermas
Düsseldorf, 18 June 1929

Foreign member

Department of Social Sciences


Membership of SASA
Foreign member since 15 December 1988

Field of study
social philosophy, Frankfurt School member

University of Göttingen (1949‒1950) and University of Zürich (1950‒1951), BA; University of Bonn, PhD, in philosophy (1954); habilitation (1961),University of Marburg,

Professor: University of Heidelberg (1961‒1964); Frankfurt on the Main (1964‒1971 and 1981‒1994); Northwestern University, Chicago and New York University (1994‒); Max Planck Institute for the Study of the Scientific-Technical World (1971‒1981)

Awards and recognitions
Honorary doctorate University of Munich and Frankfurt;
Hegel Prize (1973);
Sigmund Freud Prize (1976);
Theodor W. Adorno Award (1980);
Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (1986);
The Sonning Prize awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to European culture (1987);
Karl Jaspers Prize (1995);
Theodor Heuss Foundation Prize (1999);
Peace Prize of the German Book Trade (2001);
The Prince of Asturias Award, social sciences (2003);
Kyoto Prize (2004);
Bruno Kreisky Award (2006);
Viktor Frankl Award (2011);
The Erasmus Prize (2013);
Kluge Prize (2015);