Mechanical engineer
Kostyli, (Ryazan region‎), 1 January 1950

Foreign member

Department of Technical Sciences


Membership of SASA
Foreign member since 1 November 2012

Department of Mechanics and Mathematics, Moscow State University, BSc (1972); candidate of science in physics and mathematics (1974); PhD (1978)

Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics, Moscow State University, full professor (1983‒); dean deputy (1980‒1987); vice-chancellor(1989‒1998); Deputy Minister of Education of the Russian Federation (1997‒2001); Department of Mathematical Statistics and Random Processes , RAS Steklov Institute of Mathematics, head (2003‒); director (2004‒)

Membership of other academies
Russian Academy of Science, corresponding member (1997); full member (2000); vice-president (2001‒)

Membership of editorial boards
Regular and Chaotic Dynamics, editor-in-chief; Russian nonlinear dynamics, editor-in-chief; Russian Journal of  Mathematical Physics, editor-in-chief; Известия РАН ‒ серия математическая, editor-in-chief; Vestnik MGU, deputy editor-in-chief; Математические заметки, editor; Доклады Академии наук, editor

Awards and recognitions
leninsky Komsomol Award (1977);
M.V. Lomonosov 1st Degree Prize (1986);
S. A. Chaplygin Prize of the USSR Academy of Science (1988);
State Prize of the Russian Federation (1994);
S.V. Kovalevskaya Prize of RAS (2000);
Gold medal Henri Poincaré of the International Association of Non-linear Analysts (2004);
Leonhard Euler Gold Medal of RAS (2007);
Gili Agostinelli Prize of the Turin Academy of Sciences (2009);
Triumph Prize (2010)